Light-O-Rama Forums

Complete Noob Starting With Nothing

DeBoardfam

Hey guys and gals.  I have been researching LOR for about a year now  It is really hard to find a lot of info about the hardware available.  I am an IT Manager so I understand most of the concept, just not hardware. Definitely going pixels. I want to start with outlining a few pieces of the house and I think I am set on ribbons on that so they have the close together look.  I see people recommend the pixie controller as a start.  Would you buy that directly from LOR? What about the ribbons?  I know there is RBG guy and other people selling strands (doesn't seem to be the ribbons though).   Anyone have pictures of ribbons versus the square pixels?  Any other gothchas? What about extensions.. should I plan for those ahead of time?  

Did some reading in other posts, but seemed they already had some hardware to start with and built off that. 

Thanks!

19 minutes ago, DeBoardfam said:

It is really hard to find a lot of info about the hardware available.

You can find the entire line of LOR hardware at http://www1.lightorama.com/. Just look under the Products dropdown and you will find them. All of the documentation can be found here.

You can find all sorts of package deals direct from the LOR Store as well.

The links Don supplied you are your best option for learning the Hardware aspect of this hobby.   Before I ever got into RGB lighting, as LOR created new RGB lighting controllers, as well as other new items, I downloaded the documentation for all of them, including those I haven't bought and may not ever buy.  Just so I can read about the LOR items available, how they work, how to set them up, as well as any additional hardware/software or accessories I may need to make them all work..  You can get most everything from the LOR store from the links Don supplied.