Light-O-Rama Forums

Newbie Here!

CrazyManInCincy

Hey I been looking into doing this for years! But never really had the $$$$ to do it. So I been looking at the 32 channel starter kit. Any ideas if its a good choice ? Where is a good place to get lights from? I like to get a copy of the software to start everything before my goodies are purchased. I was looking at just buying the software then all the other controlers but I priced it all it looks like Id be losing money. Any ideas?

Mike

P.S Any one in the Cincinnati, Ohio arwa willing to teach me or let me help out with there show before I dive head first into it? I am really good with computers(most times).

Depending on your knowledge and how much you know about basic electricity, the PC kits may be a better fit for you, as it was for me. I see a lot of people (myself included) that have lights from static displays from prior years. You can use those, if you're starting from scratch, then you're starting pretty late in the year.

If you want to start slow, 16 or 32 channels is a good start. Download the demo software (it's free) and start working with it right away to get an idea of what you can do. I believe that the demo if fully functional with the exception of being able to run the controllers, so you can create sequences, then merge it to the real software when you purchase the controllers.

Here's a link for the PC kits. http://store.lightorama.com/ctb16pcpage.html

Westport Lights wrote:

Depending on your knowledge and how much you know about basic electricity, the PC kits may be a better fit for you, as it was for me. I see a lot of people (myself included) that have lights from static displays from prior years. You can use those, if you're starting from scratch, then you're starting pretty late in the year.