Light-O-Rama Forums

How many songs do you suggest for a light show.?

lisanewbie

This is my first year using LOR (32 Channels) for my display and have gone mad with light sequencing . I plan to run my show form 6pm to 9pm. How many songs should I use?

Any suggestion would be great. Thanks in advance for you reply and help.

Lisanewbie :?

You will get answers from all over the spectrum on this. In the end you will just have to decide what you want to present for a show. Some people will just have 3-4 songs that loop continuously and others will have 15-20 songs that they change every night.
Me, I have about 10 songs mixed up into about 8 different 7-8 minute shows that play every fifteen minutes. The house goes basically static between the shows with slow color changes short teaser animations on the elements with unsequenced music playing.

Like Brian, it really varies. How much time do you have to sequence vs. normal work and family activities. This year you may only have 4 or 5 songs complete. Next year you'll add another 5 or 6. Do you have an area where people can stop and watch the show for a long period or will it get too crowded. If you want to move the crowd along you may want to have a shorter show so that people leave when it cycles over. Are you using outdoor speakers or an FM transmitter. My first year I did not have a transmitter and did only two shows a night. It was 25 minutes long and ran it at 6:00 pm and 7:00 pm, as I did not want my neighbors to have to hear the music any later. Now I have a transmitter and run a 45 minute show from 6:00 pm to 11:00 pm nightly.

If it is your first year, you may want to keep it simple. Probably a show of 15 minutes might be the maximium, either repeated (if only 1 show), or with a significant break between shows (like another 15 minutes, simple 'animation' sequences as filler) if more than 1 show. The idea is to not turn your street into a 'parking lot' or burn yourself out programming sequences.