Light-O-Rama Forums

New, planning 2018, and an introduction

dansamy

Greetings! I just joined because I'm considering buying a package for Halloween and Christmas 2018.

Brief history. I'm Amy and I'm a nurse by calling. I grew up in an era where riding through neighborhoods to see the lights was a Christmas tradition. Whole neighborhoods would be lit up. I always loved it. 

In 2014, I was unexpectedly widowed. In 2016, I bought a house in a neighborhood and moved from my very rural area. Shopping for Christmas decorations, I found the controller built by Gemmy for Lowe's and Disney. It only has 6 channels, very few programmed songs and very limited capacity for light quantity. Still, using the Bluetooth speaker function, it gave some life to an otherwise small display in 2016.

For 2017, we decorated quite a lot for Halloween but the actual lighting was, still of course, limited. For Christmas this year, I ditched the cheapo little spiral trees that blow over if you look at them funny and added outdoor decorations of reindeer, gift boxes, sturdier trees but still purchased ones not home built, lampposts, snowman. I also used icicles on my roof, wrapped my columns and lit my pathway. 

I hit the clearance sales on 12/26 and got an Abominable Snowman, some tall candy canes, a sleigh to add to the reindeer, more of the gift boxes, more trees. I also snagged 20 sets each of 100ct LED in red, green and blue and 11 spools of cool white 240ct LED. If I use everything, I'll go from about 2000 lights this year to almost 10k next year. Still quite small, but I have to limit myself. I'm only 3 miles away from the business end of the runways of my local airport. My house is, therefore, under the flight paths. Lasers, skyward pointed spotlights, anything like that is automatically on the no list. I have to stay within the realm of reasonable person seasonal light display. I'm also limited to what my teenagers will help me with. They're good kids though.