Light-O-Rama Forums

dmx feature request

bhays

1. Wizards for basic moving head/moving mirror fixtures. This would allow you to select the channels for pan and tilt, then select the time range and ask the wizard to generate a figure 8, circle, or other basic patterns.

Chime in if this would be of interest to you. Hopefully Dan will take notice.

YES! I think this would be very nice, as long as young could set the size of the design you want to make. So you could make it do a small figure 8 and then a big one, if that makes sense

thanks,
Greg

I'm all for anything that makes programming easier. I am just getting into DMX for the first time this year, though, so I don't know much about it -- YET.

Edit to Add: This may not be feasible, given the different manufacturers and variety of moving heads out there, but, would it be possible to develop a spreadsheet where you could enter distances, heights, and an angle and let the spreadsheet calculate the different intensities that needed to be entered into LOR to get the movement? Then again, LOR would also have to be modified to permit you to enter a numeric value for the intensity. Not as good as a wizard, but perhaps it would make programming the yolk easier.

Denny wrote:

I'm all for anything that makes programming easier. I am just getting into DMX for the first time this year, though, so I don't know much about it -- YET.

Edit to Add: This may not be feasible, given the different manufacturers and variety of moving heads out there, but, would it be possible to develop a spreadsheet where you could enter distances, heights, and an angle and let the spreadsheet calculate the different intensities that needed to be entered into LOR to get the movement? Then again, LOR would also have to be modified to permit you to enter a numeric value for the intensity. Not as good as a wizard, but perhaps it would make programming the yolk easier.