Light-O-Rama Forums

Best way to implement two 1602 Controllers

DKFCP

Hi,

I am a newbie as of 2015.  Our single1602 really upped our game last year.  SO, this year I've decided to add second 1602.  One controller is for the roof/house and the other controller will be for a mega tree.  I loaded my own program sequence onto the first 1602 but I did NOT use the computer to run the show.  (it was in standalone mode)

Questions:

Can the two controllers be set up in a master/slave configuration?  If so--would I just use a cat-5 cable between the two?

Do I need to load the program sequence onto the new 1602 and if so--how would I get the two controllers to sync?

Is there a better/more efficient/easier way to do this?

Thank you so much for your patience--I'm not trying to waste anyones time.  I really appreciate it.

Thank you!

DK

Yes, you can have one 1602 control other controllers.  You hook up a cat-5 cable between the two and load the stand-alone sequence into one of them.

Jim,

Thank you so much for the response.  Ill work on setting those up in the garage to test this weekend.  I already have the stand-alone sequence in the master--is there anything I need to do for the second unit or is it pretty much plug-and-play.

regards,

DK

OK Guys,

I now have my new (second) 1602 loaded up with the same sequence as the first controller.  They don't seem to work as a master/slave configuration--so I had to load the same sequence directly onto the second controller.  This is not exactly what I'd like to do.

I am hoping to run everything stand-alone but have 32 channels instead of just 2 x 16 channels.  I've made my 32 track sequence in the software--but how do I now add that to the two controllers?   Is that even possible in stand-alone mode?  Should I have the sequences start via the clock instead of "starting on power-on"?