Light-O-Rama Forums

Which led lights?

Barrett1179

Hello all I am new to the idea of a light show and would like to know which LED lights to use with the 16 Channel controller. The lights should be able to handle the effects like shimmer dimming fading. I can not find led light with a 120 volt plug they all seem to have a controller or a dc adapter. Please help

There are a lot of vendors that deal with 110v LED lights of the commercial quality variety. Check the vendor marketplace toward the bottom of the forum home page.  That being said, I have bought all of my LED light strings from the local box stores primarily for two reasons. 1. I acquired my lights before I  knew this insane hobby even existed. 2. I use a large amount if strings (over 50,000 LED's) and I buy them after Christmas for pennies on the dollar.  I know there is something to be said for buying high quality strings, and for the person using a smaller amount that would be fine. I have been extremely lucky and have only had two strings fail in the last five years. I don't know if it still the case, but I've heard of people using Martha Stewart lights with unfavorable results (unfavorable meaning catching on fire). I have started with RGB's and pixels this year so my regular LED's are probably going to start getting phased out over the next several years.

Z

Yup...all my LED lights are from Walmart and such.  Usually buy them after Christmas.  Went out 2 days after Christmas this year, spent $30, and filled a shopping cart.  Some were as low as $0.16 a box. Wife was screaming "We can't afford all this!!!", but when the total was rung up, she was like "oh, do you need any more?".  Only thing I could not find is white LEDs.  Not sure why, but they seem to pull them off the shelf, and not discount them.  Have yet to have a set fail in a display, but if one does....I have totes full of replacements.

2 hours ago, Dcroc said: