Light-O-Rama Forums

Just create!

colelini00

Hello everyone, my name is Cole and this year will be my second year using LOR products to turn my lights into something worth seeing. I thought I’d post this to give some inspiration to those of you who may be struggling to get going with your lights and give some new hope.

First off I’d like to clarify that I am not an expert at any of this and never claim to be. Like I said this is only my second year synchronizing Christmas lights and I still have a lot to learn.

In April of this year we moved to a different house, one on a quite busy road where the speed limit is 45 mph (but everyone drives 55) and people could not stop even if they had their heart set on it to look at my lights. This got me super worried how I was going to do my lights! I started freaking out thinking that none of it was going to work out and started biting my nails to figure out if it would even be worth it. It was the complete opposite of our nice suburban house where people could stop and actually enjoy the lights. (I got quite a few lookers my first year doing this!) Anyway, I knew I had to do something if I wanted to keep putting up my lights for the 2016 season. The biggest problem wasn’t that I was down in the dumps about how it was going to ultimately look, it was that I had too many ideas rattling around in my head to make any sense of the situation.

I got to work, and immediately ruled out doing any sort of show with the lights being synchronized to music. Cars would just not be able to stop on our busy road to look at the lights, especially at night since coming from one direction requires topping a small hill. I didn’t want to put anyone at risk that would be driving out searching for some Christmas lights.