Light-O-Rama Forums

Pixels static on

zvacman

Hi, 2nd year newbie here.  I started last year with 2 110v 16 channel controllers and ended up with 5. This year I will have 6 plus 4 24 channel LOR RGB 12v controllers and 4 E682 pixel controllers.  On to my question.  Is it hard on the pixels, controllers, or power supplies to run them on static full white?  I have the static full white come on about 45 minutes before the show begins.  Then the show is about 20 minutes long followed by 10 minutes of static full white from 6-9.  I need to do this to keep the traffic flowing.  We had nearly 1000 cars last year, it was absolutely unbelievable.  Hopefully everything goes well and the guests will be in for a real treat!  I was going to outline my house with pixels and regular LED's for the purpose of static, but that's a lot more work.  But then again I have enough extra channels to do both which could be cool.  So in the event I don't have the time to decorate my house twice, is it harmful to run pixels on full white?  Any input or experience would be appreciated.

Z

Edited by zvacman

No, it's not a problem as long as the power supply is not overtaxed.  You may find that you really don't want to do that however as it will be VERY bright.  I know with my pixel tree, just the 600 pixels of the tree and 360 pixels of the star make A LOT of light when full white.

I had everything on white after my animation sequences finished at 21:00.

Also I had everything full white with red sparkles between every other sequence, and TSO's Christmas Carol opening playing.