Light-O-Rama Forums

Pixel Matrix Control

zvacman

I just completed the building of a 700 pixel matrix.  It is 25 pixels wide by 28 tall on 2" centers.  Would I be stupid to burn 7 outputs in my E682 controller on this to keep wiring simple?  At 100 pixels per output I shouldn't need to run power injection from what I've read, right?  This pixel stuff is really new to me so any input would be appreciated.  And sequencing it??? I'm losing my mind, tips on that would help too.

Z

At 12v you should be fine, plug in a strip and run the E682 in test mode to be sure.  And I would keep it simple, but I'm a pixel newbie too. I can't help you on the programing, haven't done one....yet.

Pixel Editor, Superstar or Nutcracker are all good.

The pixel editor requires a pro license, Superstar costs a bit, but Nutcracker is free.

The pixel editor is probably best though.

3 hours ago, EmmienLightFan said:

Pixel Editor, Superstar or Nutcracker are all good.

The pixel editor requires a pro license, Superstar costs a bit, but Nutcracker is free.

The pixel editor is probably best though.

The pixel editor is great when it comes to the picture effect. I use animated gifs a lot and they look great in the pixel editor. I have played with the movie effect also which is cool.

It will depend on the pixel & wire gauge. I have 1 - 12v 100 count string that I had to inject power. Easiest way to check is hook up 100 pixels, set the color to white & compare the first pixel to the last pixel in the string. If there is a big color difference then power injection is needed.

Another thing to consider is that the more pixels that you have on one output the longer the refresh rate will be.