Light-O-Rama Forums

LOR RGB programming

tatankawij

I am a newbie as dense as it comes. I can't comprehend the programming in the sequence editor.

Does the RGB channel take up one channel on the controller or 3?

If you go to DMX via e1.31 controller does that take up one channel then disperse into universes?

You guys are the greatest and most patient people I know by way of some of the topics I have read. Can you send me in the right direction. Currently running Advanced version 3.8.2, 2 controllers 32 channels. I want to take advantage of the sales to go to RGB's. Thanks in advance

As Jerry said, each RGB pixel, node or LED, uses 3-channels. These are not used with LOR's AC controller. RGB devices come in two main types...dumb and intelligent and each have their own type of controller.

Dumb: Use LOR's CMB24D DC Controller. It has 24 channels which will control 8 dumb RGB devices such as strips, floods and etc...you'll need an enclosure and a 12 VDC power supply. It works by supplying +12V to all lights on the strip but changes each of 3 -12V signals to obtain whatever color you program. In the case of strips, the entire strip will be any color and changeable on the fly in the sequence and you can fade, twinkle, shimmer and so on.