Light-O-Rama Forums

138lbs...

JeffF

That's what UPS dropped off at my front door today... 138lbs of blue LED strands for our 2016 display! B)

I hate to end being almost 100% incandescent but the blue coating on those is horrible so LEDs it was. I guess I can live with being ~80% incans.

Man, can NOT wait to start adding these to all the display elements and fooling around with them. I'm a complete LED noob so I'm hoping they don't dim too differently from what I'm used to. At least I'll have 11 months to learn(and change all our sequences)!  :D

Maybe in another decade I'll try some of those RGB pixel thingies I hear are all the rage... :P

Blue LEDs are what I started with because they faded so bad on my incans.. So I know where you are headed.. LOL   Now all my big trees are LED... Current draw is down to below 7 amps overall when before I used two 20 amp circuits and when the lights would pulse on the closer one, you could see it in the furthest ones..  Now the colors are bright and specific on every tree and they are the same year after year.. no fading.. It did take a toll on the budget, but it was worth it...

Cya on the dark side.... or should I say, the light side!   :P

Glad i am upgrading to Dumb RGB next year, all my blue Mini incans that i bought this year have already started to fade, almost clear on some of them.

Blue LEDs are what I started with because they faded so bad on my incans.. So I know where you are headed.. LOL   Now all my big trees are LED... Current draw is down to below 7 amps overall when before I used two 20 amp circuits and when the lights would pulse on the closer one, you could see it in the furthest ones..  Now the colors are bright and specific on every tree and they are the same year after year.. no fading.. It did take a toll on the budget, but it was worth it...

Cya on the dark side.... or should I say, the light side!   :P

Thanks!