Light-O-Rama Forums

Amature Radio License

Doug Farish

Not sure if this is the place to ask but here goes. I am a ham radio operator, does this limit me to the low power part 15 or can I do more? My lic is Tech Plus.

Thanks,

Doug

If you are talking about your FM transmitter, that is outside the amateur allocations, so therefore you would be transmitting under the same FCC Part 15 rules that the rest of us are.  And you couldn't transmit on amateur frequencies (with more power) because you would be violating several of the regulations in FCC Part 97 (broadcasting and music comes to mind for starters).  Besides, most people could not listen to your lights that way.

It has no effect. A Ham licence is not a commercial broadcasting license. In fact if you get caught with a "pirate radio station" you will lose your ham licence plus possible fines.

Bill Paulus

KD2EOY

Vice President

Southern Counties Amateur Radio Assn. 

I know its not a LOR question but How hard is it to get a Ham license now days? last time I checked they wanted morse code, technical building etc. of radio etc... Is it gotten any easier for those of us who want to be able to help out in a emergency or just talk at times around the world?

That is what I thought. I was just wanting to make sure. I have had m y ham license for over 20 years now and sure do not want to lose them. I can live with the part 15.

Thanks all for the answers. You really helped.

Doug

I know its not a LOR question but How hard is it to get a Ham license now days? last time I checked they wanted morse code, technical building etc. of radio etc... Is it gotten any easier for those of us who want to be able to help out in a emergency or just talk at times around the world?

Hey Sarge,

As Jim said, no morse code required now.