Light-O-Rama Forums

Triac's

Gary N

I am new to LOR, and I have sean questions about triac's a few times in the forum. I watched the you tube video that lighting up paxton has. 

My question is do triacs go out often, Is there a  reason they go bad. And how much does LOR charge to fix ?

I dont have a problem yet, but tring to avoid one.

Gary

Hi

Yes they fail for several reasons. Too high reverse voltage causes by short circuit or transcient voltages. I have had 3 fail in 13 years. My blowmold reindeer uses c7 lamp. It shorted out due to loose connection or water for in the socket. This was on my roof display. Never had one fail on my ground diplays. I have 14 controllers. And many are 2006 vintage. I build the DIY kits. Excellent quality units.

LOR will repair them or send you the parts. I repair my own. LOR staff is very friendly and helpful but this is the busy season. I buy some parts from other sources as well.

Odd you should say that Marty,  I contacted LOR about some triac's and was told to buy them from mouser, I think it was.  Was told they do not have any at LOR.

I buy the triacs from Digikey. If you need the info on this let me know. I also buy the opto isolators from them also. I have not had any issues with the isolators but bought them just in case. 

Marty

Marty, 

You said that you have a roof display with C7's that water got in the socket and shorted, or reverse voltage. it is because they were covered in snow, or from the rain. I have a holdman star on my roof with 182 C9's, I did brake up the section so the most on one channel is 4.2 amps. I also used fused vampire plugs, the C9's are my only concern in my display because of the amount of amps it does use. So my question is water in the socket will cause a problem, or will the fuses blow out before the triac.

BTM I live in northern wisconsin now, but I lived in Cicero most of my life. 

Gary

Gary

Here is Digikey's P/N for BTA16-600BWRG.

So you have two choices.