Light-O-Rama Forums

Using a cheap box to control my lights

nexusguy59

Hello Everyone,

This is my first year trying all this out and I am excited, I bought a cheap box to run my lights this year, but i want a more sophisticated system so I came across LOR.

Now my question, with everything running from a laptop how do I hook up outdoor speakers and how do I get the right length of cable if it is a usb plug. I have almost a 1/4 to a 1/2 an acre with lights and the longest run is about 150 feet from the source. How do I hook up all the lights are they done individually to the outlets on the LOR controller? If that is the case how do I get the effect I want as far as like a wave of lights or such like that. I am just not sure how it works.

Thanks,

Michael

If you get a LOR controller, you'll want to get the software which helps you program the lights. 

Look at the various tutorials (including the ones here on the LOR site) and they'll help educate you on what the LOR controllers and software can do.  That would be much easier than asking such a wide-opened question here on the forums. 

good luck to you!

LOR ~AC~ Controllers, such as the CTBPC16 are 16 channels, they have 16 dangles, labeled channel 1 through 16, each dangle controls whatever light{s} are plugged into it INDIVIDUALLY or ALL at the SAME TIME, depending on how they are programmed in the LOR Sequencer software!.

Connecting outdoor speakers, if the speakers have a 1/4" male jack that plugs into your sound card, then you can do 1 or 2 things, cut the speaker wire and splice in the length you need to extend it, or buy extender audio cables {or build your own} that have female and male stereo ends, then plug your outdoor speakers into the extender cable and the extender into your computer.