Light-O-Rama Forums

How are folks getting power to their controllers?

scubanimal

Hello All,

I'm just a newbie starting with 32 channels, which means I need power from 4 independent circuits; and trying to figure out how I was going to accomplish that, and have the controllers in a reasonable location, preferably together.  I see some folks have many controllers and thought I would ask how folks are typically getting power to their controllers?     I'm sure really serious homes have dedicated power runs added, but how about the rest?

Thanks,

John

For me, being 100% LED  I could just use one outlet but am currently using two and using extension cords to reach my controllers, which I try to keep close to the items they control.

Edited by worksopian

The bigger question is how much power are you using?

Doesn't matter how you plug it in if it is all pulled off the same circuit and you are under the load requirements.  LED shouldn't cause any issues with the 32 channels that you are using.

I am 95% LED and with (3) dumb RGB controllers. I use one outlet in garage and extension cords to reach my (9) controllers. I am also powering my G3MP3, FM transmitter, amplifier and tune in sign on the same circuit. All controllers are located as close to the props as possible.

All this on one outlet. LEDs. :)

Over 20,000 LEDs of R, W, B & G in the mega tree alone. Icicles are R, W, B & G as well. Then 30 10W RGB LED floods. About 50 strobes and LEDs in the mini trees.

IMG_3263_zps63168b64.jpg

Get yourself a Kill-A-Watt meter and measure how much power your lights are pulling. With only four controllers and depending on the type of lights you are using you're probably going to be safe on one circuit.

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Unbranded-Kill-A-Watt-Electricity-Monitor-P4400/202196386