Light-O-Rama Forums

Brand new...where to begin

Stima

Hey all, thanks for clicking! =)

As the topic states, I am brand new to LOR and "active" light displays.  That being said, there obviously are a billion questions one could ask.  Everyone has to start somewhere, so I really am just looking for some general ideas on how best to use the lights I have. 

What I have:

To put things in very basically...I have enough lights to do my roof line, windows, bushes and trees in RED, GREEN and WHITE.  I have a small amount of props (5 deer, 3 or 4 spiral trees and 20 or so candy canes. The deer\trees can also be done in the three colors.  Finally, I have a 16 strand mega tree I made last year. So nothing huge...10k lights or so...all incandescent.

So to limit my scope in this post, I'll ask two questions related to the canned sequences:

What are some basic ideas for using 3 colors instead of 1 (but not RGB)? 

Maybe I am better of not using the 2 extra colors to start since I am new?  I have no issue using the available canned sequences to start my adventure...but I am curious to know how well having 3 colors of lights would work (if at all).  Everything says to think in 4 groups of 4.  But I have 3 colors. 3=/=4 ><  Are there any suggestions for using 3 colors with the canned sequences?  I really don't think I have time to program anything new for this year...so I am pretty committed to using the pre-canned sequences.  If this means only using 1 color..then so be it.  I just need a bit of background to know how to proceed.

Can the sequences do 64 + 16?