Light-O-Rama Forums

questions about starting small

JRF

Hello

My name is Jeff, I live near Winston-Salem, NC. Over the last 4 or 5 years I have been adding to my outdoor Christmas lights, my goal is to eventually have my house be "full on Griswald", :D. Anyway, my lights are the basic sort, LED icicle lights, stars, lights on the bushes, large twinkling outdoor wreath, and I have 4 flood lights ( 2 red and 2 green ) that I shine on the house on either side of my front door. Not this year, but perhaps next year I would like to cover the entire front of the house witjh string lights of some sort. What type of lighting do you all recommend for that? Also, would a basic pixel light controller package get me on my way if I just want no music, but have some of the lights ( the lights covering the brick on front of house ) cycle on and off ( in a smooth , fluid way ) in a wave motion?

I thank you in advanced of any help / info

Jeff

Jeff:

I am a newbie to LOR. I started planning for my show in November, last year. I'm afraid you may be too late for this year. On the upside, if a full on Griswald look is your goal you've come to the right place. Good luck with your show, and welcome to the insanity!

Z

Thanks Z, yes I am too late for this year, but just wanting to start planning for next year...Covering the front of the house is kind of my idea of starting small, using smart RGB, I guess, so that I can make the colors look like they are flowing around on the front of the house...Just not exactly sure where to start as far as equipment needed..

I am also a Griswald :)  For years just kept mashing together store bought lights.

Then one year I got the LOR starter package. 1 controller 16 channels.

2nd year added two more 16 CH controllers.

This year I bought 3 CCP's - 300 Pixels. And now I am learning to use them. Adding sequences into my already programmed songs.