Light-O-Rama Forums

simple motor for pulleys

seriouslylosingit

Hello All,

I would like to add a "jack in the box" to my Christmas display.  I haven't ever done anything that has a motorized component, so would like any suggestions that you may have.

Any motor brand, set up information, power, etc would be appreciated.

Thanks

R

Servo dog controller then you can get high torque servos from Hobby Shop. Then you can control it In time with your music. You understand it's a slippery slope. Once you figure out how to do that your mind going to be racing with other possibilities

I have no knowledge of servo dog controllers.. What the heck is a "servo" anyway? This whole "habit/hobby" is a slippery slope, so:) wish someone would have told me what I was in for in the beginning....

A Servo is what you can control precisely. The shaft will only move 60 - 180 degrees. The servo dog controller hooks up to your lor Network. The servos plug into that. From there you can move it to whatever position you want in time with the music. They make several different length and sizes of arms to connect to the servo. Servos are most commonly used for controlling RC aircraft cars or robotics. This will be your best option if you're trying to get anything to move in time with your music

Unless you're trying to make a jack in the box that its door opens and closes slowly and there is no concern of timing it to the music. If that's the case you can even buy that pre made at some of the big box stores.

Try servocity.com. They have primers that explain servos and how they work.

The LOR Servodog interfaces their software with servos.

Check out linear servos for lifting your lid.