Light-O-Rama Forums

I'm thinking about buying a LOR controller

utilaisla

I'm new to LOR. I'm thinking about buying a 16 channel controller. What else should I buy? Does LOR works with Mac? All my lights are LED. Mostly C7 and C9. How many light sets can I plug in each outlet? Thank you so much.

A 16 channel controller running LED's can run a lot of lights. Its all based on how much the strings draw. Here is the page that describes what they'll do and how much power they can handle.

http://www1.lightorama.com/residential-ac-light-controllers/

With LED's, you can get wild and crazy with lights. You will need a USB/Rs485 adapter too which will come out of your computer then connect to the controller(s). Know this....and its important..... the cable that connects the controller, to the RS485/USB adapter, is a standard Cat5 cable for networking. BUT, It is NOT used for networking in this case. The RS485 connections on the adapter and on the controller, are not TCPIP network connections so do not connect your computer's network cable to the adapter or controller. ONLY connect using the cable from the adapter to the controller.

You'll need a license too so you might look at the starter packages first.

http://www1.lightorama.com/lighting-starter-package/

• Like 1

LOR will not run on a mac. Just buy a cheap Windows PC. It does not have to be powerful to run your show, but a faster one is better for sequencing.

Don't plug the controller into the ethernet socket on your PC.

You should look at the starter package. It will have everything you will need for now.

• Like 1

I'm new to LOR. I'm thinking about buying a 16 channel controller. What else should I buy? Does LOR works with Mac? All my lights are LED. Mostly C7 and C9. How many light sets can I plug in each outlet? Thank you so much.