Light-O-Rama Forums

Ideas for hiding excess rope light without cutting it?

Roxxxtar

Again, this is my first year. I plan on going the RGB route next year.

I took the advice of some on the board of having some rope light around my many windows and using the track channels for a nice straight line.

I don't want to cut the rope light as I'll use it for something else next year.

I already have the rope light, so buying shorter rope is not an option. lol

On my upstairs windows, I have about 4 extra feet that I need to do something with. Any ideas?

You can use electrical tape to hide anything that is not wanted to be seen, The nice part is after a season out there, if you want to remove it, it should come back off.

You can use electrical tape to hide anything that is not wanted to be seen, The nice part is after a season out there, if you want to remove it, it should come back off.

They won't overheat doing that?

They won't overheat doing that?

I've been doing this for years & no issues.

But I'm in the great white north & the tape might keep the rope light together with my sub-zero temps!! :lol:

By far IMO, the easiest and cheapest route is to use split poly "loom" tubing.

Ton's of loom on ebay...really cheap.  I think my last 100ft roll of 1/2 loom was less than $20 shipped.    

I use it to cover excess rope ligh on my singing faces and to bundle up wire clusters around the yard.

First I have to say that I use led rope. It is not hot.

But, if it were not led rope I would still use heat shrink tubing. Tape will come off. And I don't want to re-do my work.

White doesn't work. It has to be black. Just in case you were wondering about if you could use that spare white you got laying around.....

Please forvigive me, hopefully you guys won't think I'm tooooo stupid. So if I use the split loom, and my lights are 3/8 ropes, should I buy the 3/8 loom, or the half inch which would be an easier fit?