Light-O-Rama Forums

Multiple Tracks Mimmicking each other

justaddmorelights

Ok, I have a question for you guys, I'm a newbie and have spent alot of time watching Jstorms tutorials (which were a great help!) but I am having issues with duplicate tracks. As Jstorms shows in his tutorial (#3) he duplicates the "master" track and names it "ordered" so that he can rearrange the channels without disturbing his "master" track. However, when I duplicate and go to put my channels in groups or whatnot, the master track changes along with it! What's up with that? Is there a setting I need to change?

Thank you Jstorms for your tutorials, your guidance and any other is much appreciated!!

I have used tracks for years without seeing the issue you are reporting.  Just for grins, I just created a new animation sequence with 48 channels.  I then duplicated the track with a new track name of "working" and also renamed the original track with a new name of "master".  Next I went into the working track, and converted several channels in the first controller to a group called "group 1" and then all 16 channels in the second controller to a group called "group 2".  Next I converted the first 15 channels in controller 3 to RGB, and then converted all 16 channels in the third controller to a group called "group 3".  Lastly I re-arranged the channels so that the three groups were at the beginning of the listing leaving the channels in the first controller that were not part of a group at the end of the channel listing.

After each step I checked the master track to make sure that it was not altered.  Except for the channel name change that happens when three channels are converted to an RGB channel, there were no other changes to the master track.

Did my steps give any hints as to what is going wrong for you?  If not, can you send me your sequence and the steps that you used and I'll see if I can see the problem.  My E-Mail is:  jim@k6ccc.org