Light-O-Rama Forums

CTB-08D Deluxe Controlled Triac Board w/software for starters...

JeffF

Is the CTB-08D a good board to start fooling around with? And will it be useful later, even after adding multiple CTB-16D boards to a home display?

I think this is a silly question, but I'm a complete noob so I'd just like a little reassurance.

Also, I have been involved in the telco business for a while and I've also been into restoring old arcade/pinball games for the past 10 or so years so I'm pretty familiar with electronics and soldering(not surface mount though, only through-hole). Would purchasing an unassembled kit be a good idea to save some cash or are they more trouble than they are worth? I have soldered many, many hobby kits over the years and never had a problem.

Again, probably pretty silly in the questions department but as with any new hobby... a little reassurance from the pros helps. ;)

Thanks in advance and Merry Christmas all,
Jeff

80 of our 144 channels are on CTB-08's. They work very well.

Pros: Decent cost/channel. Able to put channels very close to the lights they control, especially for spread out things like mini-trees. Less tangle of wires going to a single box. Function as well as any board when controlling lights from a PC or other 'master'.

Cons: Very little standalone "master" capability -- not really an issue since you can use a single CTB-16D (or 8D) to drive as many 08's as you like, or a PC or MP3 director if you sync to music. The only real con is the lack of downloadable firmware update. If you need an update, you need to physically get a new chip from LOR and swap them out.

-Tim

Tim Fischer wrote:

80 of our 144 channels are on CTB-08's. They work very well.

Pros: Decent cost/channel. Able to put channels very close to the lights they control, especially for spread out things like mini-trees. Less tangle of wires going to a single box. Function as well as any board when controlling lights from a PC or other 'master'.