Light-O-Rama Forums

dumb rgb questions

chewinggum2

I am a total newbie to anything RGB.  Just bought the 8 strip dumb combo and controller at the sale.  Now Questions:

1.  Is there a training manual for sequencing them?  If so, I have been unable to find one.

2.  I have 8 ribbons with this package - do I just add 8 RGB channels?

3.  How do I make white?

4.  How do I copy and paste from old sequences,  i.e.:  window with red, blue and white into this new world?

Thanks for any help!

Robin

Let's see what I can answer for you.

1 - I think there are some tutorials, but I've never used one.

2 - Yes

3 - All three colors full on will produce a somewhat bluish white.  Play with levels using the hardware utility to see what the R, G, & B channels do to the color.  Decide what you like.

4 - If you have an existing white channel that you want to copy to the RGB, Select and copy the channel for the entire sequence.  Then use past multiple to paste to all three channels of the RGB.

• 4 weeks later...

BINGO!!!

Its a lot simpler then it looks! Just don't make every thing a big deal.... that's why they are called DUMB RGB! LOL just kidding. Its very easy to work with when you understand it. Jim has helped me out so much this year. He has a lot of good stuff on his web page.

Thanks again for all of your help Jim!

Edited by rednosetbird

I am a total newbie to anything RGB.  Just bought the 8 strip dumb combo and controller at the sale.  Now Questions:

1.  Is there a training manual for sequencing them?  If so, I have been unable to find one.

For sequencing video check LOR (main site, not the forum,  look under  videos, then under video tutorial, then scroll down to effect tools.

Lots of videos around on WHAT is RGB etc, same board and others

2.  I have 8 ribbons with this package - do I just add 8 RGB channels?

Dumb pixels (or ribbons) will use 3 channels for each string or strip,  (1) for each of Red/Green/Blue)   (8  ribbons at 3 each would be 24 channels).