Light-O-Rama Forums

Strobes w/LOR

jrock_at_rons

I'm adding strobes to my display this year.  While I am doing my sequencing in the editor... can I use any/all the effects?... or are strobes a straight-up boolean proposition?  

I figured I'd ask quick before I get to deep. 

Thanks. 

It's binary.  100% On or 100% Off only.  

Sure, you can twinkle or fade a strobe channel, but you'll damage the strobe :)

• Like 1

For zenon strobes, commonly called "Curtain Strobes" best to that when you run them, keep the run time down to say no more than a minute and then leave them off for a good minute or more to allow them to cool down. I'm no expert on them, just thought to allow them a better lifetime. Someone who knows the internals could better advise but turning them on and off in quick periods of time, might be bad.

Thanks Mike.  That was my thinking going in but I figured I'd take the time to ask quick anyways. 

dgrant, The longest I run the strobes (so far) is maybe 10 seconds at a time.  I'm sure once the wife and kids see them though I'll have to find ways to involve them a bit more though. 

There is no problem running Xenon curtain strobes for hours at a time.  But it is correct that you want to minimize the amount of FAST on/off transitions.

Thank You Mr P, as I really don't know other than I do know that they must be allowed to cool down. I've run mine for min of maybe 10 seconds and as long as a minute but then wait for several minutes just in case before running them again. 

I've bought curtain stobes from 4 different vendors & one of them had in there write up that they were not for continous use. 1 minute max per cycle.

I guess it will come down to the quality of the strobe that you get. As I stated, I ran them on my house every night, four hours a night for three weeks. I lost a few but when I went to replace them it was because they were full of water.