Light-O-Rama Forums

jumping in...

mojo_risin

I have been researching doing this on and off for several years and have been delayed each time by personal events. I think the time is finally right for me to be able to get into this game. I feel like I know absolutely nothing about it even though I have read multitudes. I am hoping it will all come together once I actually have my hands on it.

I plan to get a showtime starter kit at the mad grab sale and possibly a few other items. I thought I would check to see if anyone is upgrading this year to pixels or just has surplus items they are planning to unload this year that I might want to consider. I plan to use led string lights to start.This might allow me to pick up more items and have a better show to start Than i would otherwise have starting from scratch buying all new since budget isn't unlimited. I appreciate anyone willing to help out a newbie. I'm not trying to build best show in town (yet anyway), but just a 32 up to 64 channel show with a spiral tree or 2. Also considering floods, but not sure yet.

Also, any local lighters interested or willing to help guide me in any fashion would also be great.

Thanks,

Rory

Welcome to the madness Rory. I am not local to you but would be willing to help you over the phone. If you would like to give me a call this weekend I will help you.  507-236-5553      Dan

Welcome Rory.

Never hurts to start small.  With with basic hardware in hand and playing with the software, things become less muddy.

You do realize you match a controller type with the light types?

AC controller for 120v incandescent/led strings and rope light.

DC controllers for 12v dumb single color/RGB nodes, modules, strips, floods and rope light.

BTW..thoughts on used equipment, look at this current LOR thread.

http://forums.lightorama.com/index.php?/topic/35444-overpaying-for-used-equipment-is-nuts/