Light-O-Rama Forums

New Setup Option

HVACR

Hello, I am new to Light-o-rama systems. I have just purchased 2 used controllers. I have also bought up on lights after christmas. I have a good electrical background.

Well here is my question. My first show will be christmas of 2015. I own 3 houses side by side. I live  in one of them and the other 2 are rentals. I want to put lights on all 3 houses and connect to one show. I plan to have one controller per house this year and adding one controller per house in the future. Should I treat this as one show 3 houses wide or clone all 3 controller as controller 1 and mirror the show on each house? Which do you think would be more impressive? Please explain your response.

Thanks
HVACR 

• 3 weeks later...

It looks like nobody replied here so I will.

If these were my properties I would program them individually but make them interact with each other. You could do some small chases with each of the houses and do have the houses alternate with each other. I think having all three properties do the same thing at the same time would look boring.

Small chases on each house such as bushes on H1, then bushes on H2, then bushes on H3, then eaves on H1, then eaves on H2, then eaves on H3, then windows on H1, then windows on H2, then windows on H3 and so on. Depending on how far apart the houses are it might look pretty cool.

My 2 cents. 

With only 2 controllers I don't know how much you can interact all 3, on 3 seperate shows.... Gonna have to do one show unless you get a third controller I would think

Both. Do most individually, then copy and paste and do some bits all together. All together looks really amazing at first, but gets boring, especially with only 16 channels, when you could be using all 48, IMO.

Need a common element with same beat to tie the yards together. Simple, but the same.

Like candy canes all blinking together.

• Like 1