Light-O-Rama Forums

New to the Hobby, have a few questions

JD123

Hello all,

Just starting in this hobby and looking for a little advice.  I have been doing home automation for many years, and this just naturally fits!

I have not purchased anything yet, as I believe that a LOR sale is coming soon (any idea when?).  I’d like to get an equipment list and take advantage of lower prices to get started.  To get into the hobby, I thought I’d replace my existing incan lights with CCB’s and work out from there.  Currently I have lights along the roofline.  I will probably add a few mini trees, and maybe take a run at a few hanging snowflakes, etc.  I’d like to go RGB as much as possible.  For the first year I’m planning on keeping it simple.  To that end, I’m trying to plan the layout and have a few questions for the experts out there:

1) I have a chance to start over with the way I run the bulb strings.  Currently my lights are on 1x2 boards that are painted the same color as my trim.  I have installed hooks to make it easier to hang the boards with the lights on them. I am thinking of simply replacing the incan lights with CCB’s.  If you had it all to do over, are there preferred methods of hanging lights?  I want to make it simple to put them up each year and I’m no fan of hanging off the roof in winter (I live in Colorado),

2) With the old bulbs, I simply cut the strings to fit on the boards.  The boards ran evenly from the peak of the roof to the end of the roofline. With the CCB’s cutting segments to evenly match roof segments does not seem cost effective. I’m assuming it will void any warranties and cause power problems as well.  For the display, I’d like to have symmetrical patterns on each side of the roof peaks.  Does it make programming any more difficult to have strings not ending at the end of a roof segment, or going over the peak of the roof, instead of evenly on the roof segments? Maybe the software takes care of that for you?