Light-O-Rama Forums

How much does my show cost

Jefffrompawpaw

I was looking at youtube at some other shows and read in the comments section that a pretty grand display was only costing 9.00 a month.  I find that very interesting.  I'm curious at what my show costs.

I'm in my first year and i've had the statement "can't wait to see your electric bill' more than once already.   I'm fairly confident that it won't be much.  I have a 100% LED show all running on a single controller on one 20 amp GFI at 5 hours a day. 

Any electrical genius want to guide me on how to figure this out?  I would really like to brag that my show is "green" only costing 9.00 a month  too.

This may be posted somewhere, but using the search and scrolling through the threads I can't find it.

Compare light bills with previous months, also remember we are flashing the lights ON and OFF a lot.  So there are a lot of our bulbs  in the OFF state or fade state.  People that have static displays have all lights ON 100% for the entire period.  Just go outside and pick a bulb and watch how long that one bulb is on during a song or during a one hour period.

No "Green" here. More like $9.00 an hour with all incandescent display with exception of pixel tree and RGB floods. I'm transitioning into RGB next year. First electric bill went up $240.00 for 10 days of lights... You should be able to track usage with utility company online. If not your first bill with lights on it should've been here by now.

So to get the less amount of money on the electrical bill is to use LEDs and not incandescent? 

LEDS typically use one tenth of the power.  So yes

But they do cost more to purchase