Light-O-Rama Forums

LED vs Incandescent

ericm

Light newbie here, and already addicted, building my first spiral tree for next year and some arches,  and curious about something....

Are LED's noticably different then incandescent lights in the display?  I mean will people be able to notice a big difference between the two at night with everything lit up and moving?  I have both types and want to know if they should all one or the other or if it doesnt really make a difference thanks....

If you have full wave LED lights, Personally I don't think anyone will notice but with that said I think the LED don't fade as well.

I prefer the LED's just for the ease of not worrying about overloading circuits.

IMO you can mix, just not in the same prop. As Grinch said, some of the dimming is different and would be real noticeable if were touching and dancing together. There's also like 15 colors of LED whites and I don't even like seeing them mixed in the same prop. For my display, I even try to keep the white LED's the same for all my props used. Gets harder each year as technology changes. So always buy extras.

Agreed, stick to the same flavor of LED's in any one prop. LEDs draw so little power and they are very nice colors plus, they look nicer than incans. However, that being said, incans still have a place in our displays depending on the usage. I use about %90 LED and the rest are incans. Currently incans on pre-wired on deer frames. I put them on the arches because I can fade them without issue. 

I prefer LEDs by such a large margin there's not even a measurement for it.

Colors?  Nothing like 'em.  There's something unmatched about such a vivid blue that will be EXACTLY the same non-faded color in 10 years, rather than ten days.

Reliability?  Nothing like 'em.  It's beyond gratifying to not even need to plug things in each year to know they'll be working just fine.  Replacement lights?  Don't have any need for them anymore.