Light-O-Rama Forums

Best Starter Package

Chadthedrummer7

Ok, I have been doing my research and am ready to jump in for next year. What is the best starter package to buy? I have my eyes on the Showtime Central starter package with 2 controllers-32 channels. . But have some questions:

1. How good is that FM transmitter? (i see it says 150' usually, but is that the real deal. cause even that seems a little short to me)

2. I am wondering why in this package they don't offer anything above the Basic Plus software. I assume this is ok, but what are your thoughts?

3. When is the best time to buy? i heard there is a summer sale, but is it worth it to wait for that?

4. Does it really take a few hours for a few seconds of music when dealing with the program? (i mean, i am a musician and enjoy music editing software, but that seems redonk amount of time for not much payoff)

5. How good is the SD plug and play card? Do you still have to do some tweeking?

6. Is it worth it to buy the already designed shows that come on the SD cards for like $70 each? Thoughts on these?

7. Is the Showtime Central with 2 controllers the way to go, or should i buy my own FM transmitter and components seperate? Any advice is greatly appreciNated!

Thank you all. (And i know before you say it) Run while i can before i get hooked. haha - too late. I am geek, bring it!

Thanks...

Chad

How good is the FM Transmitter? It's as good as FCC regulations will allow. That said, you might be happier investigating other options there.

You have the option of upgrading your software license level when you purchase. They are giving you the Basic software license free. You could upgrade to the Advanced if you would like.

Best time to buy? One doesn't need the hardware to start programming. Thus if you wanted to wait for a sale from LOR then you might considering doing so. They have 2 per year. Spring and Summer.