Light-O-Rama Forums

2nd Controller Not Running Lights yet

Marshall44236

This is my first year so I need your help. I've been fighting a number of issues mostly around setting up a secondary computer (not connected to Internet) to run the system and sequences but I solved most of that last night with one of the two controllers firing up and running. My last issue I hope to solve tonight is getting the second controller running.

Can you please send me your recommended next steps to troubleshoot? I really want this going tonight as the season is slipping away and the neighbors are curious.

I've read some of the forum for answers and here's what i've tried and seen so far.

- when both controllers are hooked up to Harware Utility, it only finds controller 01.

- if I hook up only the 2nd controller only to Hardware Utility, it does read and recognize it as 02. I'm pretty sure I followed directions and set it up right. I also checked each line and it seemed to work

- cable seems to work fine as I used that to check on Hardware Utility

- I read this morning in the forum about this possibly being a sequence design issue with it looking for 17-32 vs controller 02 & channels 1-16. How do I check and fix if this is the issue?

What else could it be? Is there a utility that would allow me to see/confirm both controllers when hooked up together? Any and all thoughts are welcome!!

Thanks,

Dan

Edited by Marshall44236

Double check your Cat5 cables, I had 2 that I tested 1 time and they tested good, my problem returned and I found they both had intermittent failures.  

Connection is computer to USB/serial adapter. Adapter to controller 01 with cable in left side. Controller 01 (connector on right side) to Controller 02 with cable in left side connector.