Light-O-Rama Forums

LOR network support DMX

BRANDON43

Being a newbie, I know my question must have been asked a million times. However I can not get a straight answer. My question will be very simple for some..

I have a LOR network with 7 controllers that are PC controlled. I have a standard LOR RS 485 converter from the computer and daisy to the LOR controllers. I plan on utilizing DMX to support my RGB floods which will be controller 8. My question is can I modify a standard RS 485 cable from LOR to DMX and JUST plug in to a DMX controller with no other hardware?

Thanks,

RS485 and DMX are two different animals. You'll need some sort of converter/adapter or interface. I think I saw something at holidaycoro that might do this otherwise SanDevices or JoshuaSystems cards can but it'll be via E1.31.

Enttec makes a DMX dongle...you might look at those too.

Edited by dgrant

Actual you can...but I personally wouldn't. Your LOR controllers can accept DMX protocol and the LOR adapter (USB-RS485) can output Raw DMX but its a bit buggy. I know some that use it in this way. I've personally tried it and has worked sometimes and others, 1 channel off. If you want your whole network to be in dmx, I would get one of the dongles dgrant suggested. Safer.

Or run the LOR controllers with the adapter you have now and your 8th controller in DMX using a different dongle. You can run both protocols at the same time, but on different networks....separate cables. But then again, you could run on the same cable. LOR uses pins 4/5 and DMX 1/2. But I rather keep them separated.

Brandon have you considered using light o Rama cmb24d controller it will give 8 rgb channels that's 8 flood lights and get hooked up as a regular controller

If I choose to run the LOR controllers with the adapter I presently have and the 8th controller on DMX network, should I split the networks between the computer and the LOR Adapter? Or can the it be installed between controllers 7 and 8.