Light-O-Rama Forums

Newbie needs Help! LOTS OF HELP!

Superneek

Hi there! 

I just purchased my Series 16 Starter package with the mini director. Sooooo, what's next? I'm looking to just do a small simple light show, nothing crazy hard since it's my first time with LOR.  I'm even considering just using  a ready to go sequence to start….In the past I had a Mr. Christmas Light Box that had worked for me in the past, but I want something that I can play the music I want.  

I normally use the standard box lights (like the icicle ones).  Can I still use those?  For each plug connector (I believe I have 16) in the controller, how many strings of lights can be connected together and plugged into each of those plugs in the controller?  

Do you normally plug the controller inside in a regular outlet or outside in an outlet in the garage?

I already have an FM transmitter that I am also using with my sound bar.  So I think i'm good on sound.

What if I have to use an extension cord? Can I plug the extension cord into the LOR controller box?

Also, I read to think of it as groups of 4….so how does that work when you plug in the lights to the controller since they aren't grouped in fours?

Sorry for all the questions, but I can't find those answer anywhere! I placed third in the community light show contest last year with my little box, but I want to take first this year! Again, for this year not looking to attract driving traffic since I live in a gated community anyways, so I don't need continuous shows.  Just a few simple sequences to run once a night and then to use to NAIL THAT CONTEST!! 

Please help!! Thanks in advance for the help! Oh and I'm in Southern California, so not too worried about weather issues.  Just not looking to set my house on fire….LOL!