Light-O-Rama Forums

Customizing Channel Configuration in XML Markup

bcarew@protechpts.com

I am a newbie and trying to reconfigure my channel configuration on a Superstar tree.  Instead of having 12 CCR's with a controller at the head of each string I want to have 4 150 pixel CCR's (generic) ribbons and create a layout that will allow them to be addressed as 12 segments.  I am using E1.31 and an E682.  

I have exported a channel configuration from God Bless the USA to get an idea of what the XML looks like and have built code in PHP to generate a channel config that looks like my layout.  I am quite sure I have coding errors in the generated XML to work out but thought I would post a few problems I seem to be encountering and ask for any clues anyone might like to offer to speed the process along.

1.  Sometimes I try and import the XML and it just plain errors with a very generic message.  Clearly I have an error in my XML.  I don't suppose there is a way to enable more verbose error reporting?

2.  Sometimes the import runs without an error but the channels do not change.

3.  Sometimes I import and the existing RGB groups get broken into 3 seperate RGB entities.

Is there any documentation on the XML tags and tips and tricks?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Bill

There is no document that I know of that describes the XML formats the visualizer uses. I would not recomend creating the XML on your own.

In the next release of S3 there will be a DMX Pixel tool that will make things easier. But right now there are 3 other ways to do it, each has its advantages and drawbacks. The 3 ways are:

A) Create each pixel as a single bulb and in the fixture properties dialog box, set the type of the bulb to "RGB"
This works and many have done it, but it is tedius and the sequence editor is limited to 1000 fixtures, so you can only create 1000 pixels this way.