Light-O-Rama Forums

What to buy????

rmturner54

I am very new to this...havent purchased anything. Making plans for next year. Looked at all the different controllers. What to buy??? research research!!!!!!!!What is the difference between the LOR1602W and the CTB16PC?

I am confused. AC or DC controllers???? What is everyone using for supply voltage with the DC controllers?

Eventually things are migrating towrds LED. So I want to be able to control LED's. I looked at this last year but got really busy with faimly issues.

Thanks,

Richard

For the money, the PC versions do basically everything the deluxe version do as long as you're using a pc. They don't do stand-alone. They are limited to 15amps per side / 30amps per controller instead of 40 amps per controller. Not a big issue unless you are trying to run a couple of hundred amps. Then you need a couple of extra controllers. But 15amp circuits are cheaper and easier to deal with in my opinion, from circuit breakers to extension cords. Just my opinion. Your experience my vary from mine.

Thanks TomD,

The pc version is more my style........standalone is not a issue with me. I always have a pc available

The PC cards can also be run with a DC-MP3 card instead of a direct connection to the computer.

Here is another question. How many out there use a DC-MP3 and how many use a dedicated PC to run the show?

Guest wbottomley

Cajun Cheesehead wrote:

The PC cards can also be run with a DC-MP3 card instead of a direct connection to the computer.

Here is another question. How many out there use a DC-MP3 and how many use a dedicated PC to run the show?

I use the DC-MP3 and wouldn't have it any other way.

Running from the PC is the way I prefer.

Actually, I've got a PC that has the FM transmitter and an old stereo amp and a couple of outside speakers.

Then I have my 'production' computer that I work on sequences with.