Light-O-Rama Forums

Computer tips for complete newbies

Al Saunders

This may be an obvious suggestion/tip to a hardcore computer person but for the general computer "user" that doesn't tinker with settings much this may save some stress.

First is if your running your show on a desktop, go into settings and disable (turn off) automatic windows updates. Sometimes these updates cause your PC to reboot and in doing so it shuts down your show schedule until you restart it.

If you are running your show from a laptop do the above and also change the power save setting to never sleep when plugged in. Have your screen sleep but not the laptop itself or else you'll have to "wake" it up for the show to start.

Lastly, I turn off my wireless on my laptop during show season. This may not be a big deal but unless you need the wireless to run part of your show if the wireless is off you won't get any updates that may cause a reboot as described above.

I give this tip because I've had that stress of being outside with my wife in the car a few minutes before the show starts at 6pm. 5:58, 5:59, 6:00, 6:01, 6:02, 6:03 still no show and now a visitor shows up wanting to see the show! Quick, run in the house to the laptop! Click click, tap tap...Ok shows running. Sorry for the delay folks, Merry Christmas! :D

Also in getting so much ready for your first year show even if you know about this stuff you may overlook it. Good luck with your shows!

Later,

Al

Some good tips AL.  Two years ago, my first year with LOR, I found out the hard way about the window updates.  I was in the middle of sequencing when my computer decided to shutdown and reboot because of a windows update.  Because of this I lost a lot of my sequence that I was working on.

And another tip is to back up your sequences, back up your sequences, back up your sequences.  Did I forget to say BACK UP YOUR SEQUENCES!!

Edited by 75redman
  • Like 1