Light-O-Rama Forums

Power usage question

oilmoney

Hi, I've built 12, 4 CH mini trees with 8, 100 light C6 strings on each tree. Those 48 channels neatly fit into 3 controllers so they will all be mounted in a enclosure together. I bought the lights from HLE and they're full wave.  I was originally planning on powering them through a single 15A breaker. I know that there's a simple equation to figure this out but for the life of me I can't find it.  I'm no electrician, I just make oil....: (

96 strings of 100 C6 bulbs= 9600 lights x ??? x ???   arrrrrggghhh!!!!

There will be lots of " all on " moments in my show, should I run 2 power supplies or if I'm not over the limit then how close am I? Last year I was small and didn't have to take power into consideration, getting bigger this year and now are starting to realize the problems the rest of you face on a yearly basis. I need to address this demon now as I'm still going to add another 20000 lights on top of this and need to plan accordingly, I don't want all on to turn into all dark! Thanks in advance for reading this?

Chad

If your running all LEDs you shouldn't have a problem.  I ran 7 controllers and 22,000 lights, mostly leds and a few incans, last year on one 20 amp outlet.  I was drawing a little over 16 amps with everything on.

It would be a good idea to invest in a killowatt meter, Good way to keep track of your amps.