Light-O-Rama Forums

Running multiple strands of lights

syncman

I am a newbie and I'm trying to figure out what arrangement of lights I should use. I am assuming it makes sense to run mulitple separate strands of lights along my gutters to allow me to be able to animate and change colors during the show. So, I'm thinking of buying three separate light strands with three separate colors and running them along my gutters.

In looking at lights, though, I can't find an resources that suggest whether this is the right approach and how best to hang three seprate strands running along the same path. Should I tie them together? What's the best way to hang them?

More importantly, I'm uncertain about what kinds of lights are preferred. I was leaning toward using LED rope strands. However, these would mean somehow hanging all three in parallel so the color would all be viewable. Is this even practical? And, if so, how are people hanging multiple strands of rope light?

BTW, I'm aware of the RGB LED option, but that's too pricey. I'm just trying to find basic insights into how I can get multiple channels of lights hung from my gutters. Should I be looking at something other than LED rope lights? What are the alternatives and how are they hung when there are many strands along the same path?

Any guidance or insight would be greatly appreciated?

I don't have any experience with bundling 3 light strings together but we have bundled 2 strings together for the roof and have used them for the past 3 years. We also have bundles of 2 that we put next to the driveway that are mounted on PVC pipe. We just bundle them together with zip ties. It takes a lot of zip ties though and your fingers start to hurt after like 20 and when you have 150 bulbs with 2 zip ties each (i think) its a bit of a pain in the finger. I will try to get pictures of them soon.

-Chris-