Light-O-Rama Forums

Help me get started.

NathanSmith

Hey there everyone! I am new to the Light-O-Rama forums and to be quite honest, Light-O-Rama itself! I am looking to buy a controller that has 16-32 channels on it. All I want it for is to synchronize some lights to some music for the odd parties I have, So as you might have already guessed, I do not need anything too spectacular or expensive. I don't think I will even need 16 channels but my best guess is that 16 channels on a controller is the lowest option. All I want to connect to the controller is some strobe lights, and colored lights to flash. SO, can anybody point me in the right direction to a simple, affordable controller? Also I have another question, Can I put more than just lights on the controller? When I say that I mean could I put say, a smoke machine on it? Thanks in advance for the help! 

you can get an eight channel controller; although, for not much more, you can get sixteen channels which will give you the option of doing more if you ever want to.

you can get an eight channel controller; although, for not much more, you can get sixteen channels which will give you the option of doing more if you ever want to.

how much is an eight channel controller?

There are two flavors of controllers as well. 15 amp and 30 amp types, residential and professional respectively. So whatever you are going to plug into them, you need to do your current-draw homework first. I suggest you stay away from running things that have their own controller and other special things such as strobes, unless....you are just turning them on/off. 

Now the software is setup to control the channels based on music or video that you import into the sequencer. In there, you manually tell the software how to control the channels based upon your desires, music beats or whatever. It won't do this by itself in case you think its a plug and play type setup.