Light-O-Rama Forums

Comparison of CCB/CCP for a person just starting out

jmccon2

Hello.  I'm a newbie and I've been reading this forum and have seen multiple suggestions that newbies should go with CCB/CCP instead of LEDs because of the more options and control.   I'm really trying to make a decision within the next month because the HLE presale concludes at the end of February. I really need the assistance of your sage advice to help me understand the contrast/comparison of the 2 types of bulbs.  

Scenario: Per everyone's advice, I'm starting small - just 5 mini trees.  Below is what I believe the costs will be.

• $600 in LEDs.  Each tree will need 250 LED lights in each color (red, green, white).  The costs to purchase LED lights for these 5 trees will be approximately $200 per color, so $600 in light costs. 
  • $350 for 1 residential starter pack.  FYI - I want to be able to light up each color on the tree independent of the other trees, i.e., I can flash the green on tree 1 and the other 4 trees will not flash.  This will be 15 channels, so I'll need one controller.
  • $75 for 15 extension cords to go from trees to controller. Assuming $5 each (have no clue)
  • $69 upgrade software price (looking towards the future of adding on more controllers).
  • ~$300 FM tuner, and other accessories

So if I compare that with CCB/CCP… 

• With the exception of the lights themselves and the number of extension cords needed, wouldn’t the costs be the same? FYI – I’m assuming the controller for the 2 strands of CCP lights offered on LOR is needed in addition to the residential starter pack.
  • If I had all the LED lights on at once, I would have 3750 lights ablazn’.  How many CCB/CCPs would I need to capture the same affect?  And since 100 CCPs cost with controller costs $289 – what would that set me back?

Thanks so very much!  Janet

Hi Janet.