Light-O-Rama Forums

dc cards

movieman4

Hello , does every dc card needs his own power supply or can i put 2 or 3 dc cards to 1 power supply?

i am just a newbie sorry.

I only run one DC card, but it is all based on the load that you are going to draw on the DC channels. If the power supply is large enough to handle the total load plus a bit more so you are not maxing out the supply between all the cards they should be able to all be wired in parallel to the DC supply.

Someone may correct me if I am incorrect but the determining factor should just be the load.

CMurray

I run quite a few DC cards. I use 350W DC power supplies. For most power supplies, I run 2 or 3 cards from each power supply. In my case, the number of DC cards / supply depends not only on the total current draw, but also on the physical locations of the cards and the dc voltage required. (Because of my mix of lights, I run several DC voltages 12, 24, 27, & 30).

ok ,so i need to figer out how much load i have on the dc cards and i can connect them all to a power supllie big enough to handle the load.

I will put all my cards into a central closet thats waterproof and big enough.

ok ,so i need to figer out how much load i have on the dc cards and i can connect them all to a power supllie big enough to handle the load.

I will put all my cards into a central closet thats waterproof and big enough.

The downside to that is the amount of cords that will be traveling out to your yard; lots of them.

Most people install the controller and power supply in a weatherproof enclosure and put it the location where it's most used.

Some people buy it ready to go: http://store.creativelightingdisplays.com/CMB24D-RGB-DC-Controller-ReadyToGO-No-Assembly-CMB24D-RGB-RTG.htm

• 2 weeks later...