Light-O-Rama Forums

Newbie light questions, e.g. does 5mm=wide angle, etc.

jmccon2

Hello everyone.  I'm a newbie and I'm looking to purchase LED lights for my first light display in 2014.  I'm going to do as suggested in this forum and go for the Show Time Central Starter Pack.  As you are all well too aware, it is very expensive, so I'm hoping to snag it on sale.

At any rate, I'm looking to buy LED mini lights for my display.  I'm sticking with Red, White, and Green.  So here are my questions:

• from what I read, it looks LED wide angle lights are slightly better than just regular LED mini lights.  Do you agree?
  • Does 5mm=wide angle?
  • I've looked at CDI, HLE, MITS, and christmas-leds.com.  CL looks to be the cheapest (11.70) with HLE coming in a close second (12.12).  Has anyone used CL?
  • 100 count of lights or 2 strands of 50 lights?I realize that sometimes the shorter strands would be better because they are needed to finish off a bush or something like that.  But what if I have a lot of area to cover... in that case, is the recommendation to buy the 100 light strands because they are slightly cheaper, or is there a reason to buy 2 50 count lights instead?
  • Warm white vs. clear.  Ack!  I have no clue which to get, I just know I don't want the blue looking lights.Suggestions?
  • As long as I stay away from LED strands that have a built in controller, they should work with LOR.... right?
  • Silly question alert!  If I have 5 trees and will be putting 3 colors on them (red, white, green), I'm assuming that is 15 channels.  Is that correct?

Thanks so much!

I look forward to chatting with all of you this upcoming year :)

Janet

• from what I read, it looks LED wide angle lights are slightly better than just regular LED mini lights.  Do you agree?
  • Slightly, not a big fan of the 5mm minis, they just dont show up well enough for me,  ( except net lights ) I use the C6, they have a larger viewable surface for the passerbys
  •