Light-O-Rama Forums

Looking to get started but need lots of help.

Ramon91

Hey everyone thanks for taking a second to help me out. I am a fresh newbie who is getting ready to buy my first components. The only problem is I am completely confused.

I am leaning more towards doing RGB. I want the full color option. I have read tons of forums but when I start to get clarity I get lost again.

My questions are;

1 what kind of lights should I buy?

2 how many ccr or ribbons do I need to buy to outline a single story home? ( I know it will be an estimate)

3 what components do I need to buy? (I am getting the starter pack for the 16ch)

4 about how much $$$ would I need to start off. ( I know will not be accurate just need a budget to expect to start off with.)

Thank you again really want to make this a hobby and make it fun for my family.

learning the sequencing i think would be a great place to start.this is my fourth year and i'm still working to get that right. Good luck in your quest.

• Like 1

My two cents ...

Start with an idea of what you want your display to look like when it's done. I started planning my very first display in December of the year prior by looking at the display I had at the time, and figuring out how to animate it. If you don't have a display now, then you may want to get ideas from other displays, and think about how it might look on your house.

Once you have a display in mind, you would want to start planning the hardware and lights that you would need to make that happen. At this point you will start to get an idea of what kind of budget you will need the first year. Keep in mind that many of the displays you see today took years to get there. Very few people start out with hundreds and hundreds of channels.

The starter kit is a good option to start with, but do note it has zero RGB channels with it. If you want to go the RGB route, be prepared to spend a little more than you expected in both programming time and money.

• Like 2