Light-O-Rama Forums

I'm new to this

Paul61975

Hi, does this work with regular transcendent lights and led lights that are sold at Walmart? If so how does it work if you string together like 5 connections on 1 channel like on a gutter or do you have to have 1 string per channel? I have the cheap music box that controls the lights now, but want to upgrade to lights-o-rama for next year for sure. I can send a pic of my house now too, maybe get some ideas from you. Thanks

Think of the 16 plugs coming out of a controller as 16 plugs on your house, or 16 light switches. Everything plugged into that outlet is going to do the same thing. 

You can use regular incandescent lights from the big box stores. While many people have had luck with the LEDs from the big box stores, I would recommend one of the various online vendors. Keep an eye out, their pre-sales are starting very soon.

With using incad. lights, you need to be mindful of your current usage on each channel. There are hundreds of threads that will enlighten you B)

The differences between the two systems are huge. Too many to list but you can look at things in an easier way. LOR will allow you access to each of 16 outputs to turn on/off, fades up/down, twinkles, shimmers and so on. You get to sequence whatever "YOU" wish to see happen out in your yard as opposed to something deciding for you. YOU create your own show. Yes, its more expensive but its considerably better in the long run and when you see the smiles of the faces people enjoying YOUR creation, you'll have the warm fuzzy feeling inside of yourself, knowing that YOU created their joy. Its not a plug and play hobby but you can venture into CCR's, CCP's, CCB's, RGB and so on and it all works together in LOR. As for your yard/house, its all in your own vision of what you wish to do.