Light-O-Rama Forums

LED net light questions - lights on dimly continuously?

Moparkansas

I am new to Light-o-rama this year and just received my controllers in November.  I have everything up and running, but some of my light strings stay on dimly 24/7 (I leave the controllers powered).  The lights are LED net lights that I picked up at Big Lots.  Is there a way to cure this?

Are the lights that stay on all on one channel? Are they on 100% or dim? If it is one controller and one channel try resetting the controller per the instructions that are in the manual that came with your controllers. If this doesn't work it is probably a bad triac, open a repair ticket with LOR.

Try adding an additional load to the lines with the LEDs like a night light or an air freshener. Research snubbers this should help. The LEDs kinda store power so they stay lite but if you add something to that channel it will fix it.

You can try and plug a old C9 incan bulb at the end of the string and see if that helps .....I know it solved my issue and then I just painted the bulb black

I have had a similar problem the first year and again this year. Do this if you have a volt meter to confirm this is the problem. Set your voltmeter for 120V A.C. put on lead in the ground and then touch the fuse or the jumper tab on the board. Do you read 120 volts? If not then touch the second probe to one of the neutral tabs. If you read 120 volts now. Your plug or socket is wired wrong. The hot and neutral are reversed. This will cause lights to glow all of the time about 10%.

If you dont have a voltmeter, then visually check your wiring of the plug to the controller. Do you own an outlet checker, if so check the outlet for proper wiring. And it could very well be a problem that is easily fixed with some of the above suggestions.