Light-O-Rama Forums

Newbie - LOR and RBG

jeff.francis84

Hello All,

I am new to this LOR hobby.  I haven't purchased anything but am looking at getting into the fun.  I'd like to be able to use RGB on all of my outline items so I can put lights up year round and utilize them for the holidays other than Christmas.  Then for Christmas I would add led light strings and sequence them in.  However I am just not sure what I need exactly?  I see LOR has a controller for RGB's but can someone explain.  How many dumb RGB's can I plug into that and how many channels does that eat up on my 16 channel?  Any and all help is appreciated.  Thanks.

Jeff

O H I O

I'll probably venture into RGB next season as well. From what I've read here in the forums, DC board, will give you control of 8 RGB channels (each uses 3 channels therefore the 24 channel DC card). You'll need 12V DC power suppy(s) to power the strips. You'll also need a weatherproof box for the controller card and lastly, you'll need whatever strips are appropriate. It appears there are many types out there and I've not yet figured out which work the best. Some guy named Ray Wu has apparently the best prices and many people said emailing him directly saved shipping costs as opposed to his online store. Don't forget, you'll need an advanced license for LOR and I'm not sure about SuperStar license for RGB. I know its needed for CCR's.

Superstar is not needed for any rgb or CCR. You can program in the sequence editor and make very nice shows that way.