Light-O-Rama Forums

LOR not Multi-Core Optimized?

Rhyph

I'm not sure about this, but in my experience being that I do work for a software development house (although I am not a developer or engineer), I think I have made a discovery.   Or not, as they may already be aware of this.  Sorry for the long post in advance, but I thought some details, and explanation on this may help if no one else, Light O Rama themselves.  

When my company used to have issues with multi-core CPUs first coming out many years ago now, we had a lot of performance problems out of our software.  Our recommended work around at the time was to tell our customers to go in to task manager, and set core affinity on our application to utilize only one core.   Mind you, our users were generally in the bracket of folks who are tech savvy and don't mind poking at various settings on their systems.  So I don't recommend the uninitiated try this.   I also don't know if it causes any ill-effects, so if you try it, it is at your own risk.

As my display has grown over the past couple years, I'm starting to approach the 50mb+ file size on my sequences.  My sequencing machine (which is also my main desktop) is by no means meager even to today's standards, but it is starting to show it's spec age.  It's a custom rig I built just shy of 2 years ago, when an AMD 1090T 6-Core processor was the top end, 16GB ram, 2 x 128gb SSD OS drives, 1TB slave/data drive, 2 x nVidia 285 GTX's, etc.   It's still quite speedy, boots in under 15 seconds to desktop from cold start running Windows 7 64-bit.  I do consider myself a power gamer, and my machine is set-up to watch for things, such as GPU, CPU and memory usage right where I can see it on one of my 3 screens on my desk.