Light-O-Rama Forums

Issues with "big box" LED stars

robigd

This is my first year using LOR and in my shows, I incorporated LED window stars that I had in my "standard" display last year that I bought from one of the big box stores. Everything looked great in the visulaizer, but I found when testing the lights, they don't turn on and off as fast as I would like. They still twinkle a little bit when the channel is off and when the channel is turned on, there is a slight delay.

Can someone point me in the right direction on where I could purchase something similar that would function as I expect?

Thank you!

Question: How many stars to a strand and how many LED's to each star, and are you running them all of one channel?  Do these stars have some type of controller hard wired to them? 

If they are a wired set, like 5 or 6 stars and you're using multiple sets you may need to add a snubber, especially if you're seeing them twinkling after the channel has been turned off.

If they have their own controller, all you can do is use FULL ON and FULL OFF commands, and if they have their own controller, they may have after effects once the LOR Controller tells them to turn off.  You can't fade, twinkle or shimmer any type of light strand whether L.E.D. or incandescent that has a built in controller, doing so may damage the light strands controller or possibly the channel it's connected to on the LOR Controller.

But not knowing exactly how many stars you're using and if they are all on one channel or seperate channels will help us to help you get the issue resolved.

I have 3 of these:

http://www.lowes.com/pd_388797-84523-W12L0249_0__?productId=3827305&Ntt=snowflake&pl=1&currentURL=%3FNtt%3Dsnowflake&facetInfo=

One on each window with each hooked into a single channel. The problem is, its like they have to "warm up" when the channel is turned on so it doesn't create the effect I am going for.