Light-O-Rama Forums

Should I Connect Controller to surge protector?

Christmas

This is my first year with LOR I have 1 controller of 16 channels, I was wondering if I should be connecting my Controller to a surge protector.

If I do not connect to a surge protector am I safe?

I'm not sure if this might pop the fuses, would this be an issue? 

about half of my lights are LED

If you in an area that gets lightning, I would recommend it.  Personally I don't, but we hardly every get lightning around here.  If I lived in central Florida, I would have surge protection on anything electronic (including the stereo, TV, microwave, computer).  Around here, that's not the case.

• Like 1

I'm in Orlando, FL and I have NEVER used a Surge Protector on any of my controllers, and we do get a heck of a lot of lightning here.  Been doing fine for 3 years, but do, as others have suggested use a GFCI outlet, that is your best defense.  I've never seen a need for a surge protector on my Halloween or Christmas displays.

I think some may confuse GFCI and surge protector. They're two different things. A GFCI protects you from a lifted ground or other fault that will send current through your body when you touch metal on a faulty piece of gear. A surge protector protects the equipment from spikes of high voltage coming down the power cord. I use both.

One option would be a whole house surge protector which get's mounted in your main panel. It is supposed to protect the entire house including heating system. Maybe not as good as individual surge protected power strips but at least some defense.

Also - has anyone seen outdoor rated surge protectors?

Any electric circuit is capable of popping a breaker or blowing a fuse. I would hope if a string goes dead shorted that the breaker pops instead of frying my house!

What about using UPS'? Assuming the use of a mid-grade UPS, would the PWM square wave output cause problems with the LOR controllers?